Trial Offers for Telehealth Companies: Rules and Conversion
The FTC, Visa, Mastercard and Stripe rules for telehealth free visits, first-month prices and membership trials, FTC cases and a compliant flow.
Article summary
TL;DR
Free visits, discounted first months and membership trials are legal, but the FTC has pursued these offers in telehealth. Show the full cost before the card fields (visit, membership, treatment, commitment, fees), get separate consent, remind the patient at least 7 days before the price changes, and allow online cancellation. Never start recurring charges before the clinician decides.
- ROSCA requires clear terms before billing details, express informed consent, and "simple mechanisms" to stop recurring charges.
- Visa requires a notice at least 7 days before a trial or intro price ends, and online cancellation for online sign-ups (rules of April 18, 2026).
- In 2025, the FTC alleged a telehealth company hid a one-year membership term, charges every 28 days and an early termination fee; the proposed order carried $150,000.
- In July 2026, the FTC and two states alleged Hims & Hers enrolled consumers in subscriptions "shortly after receiving consumers' intake forms".
- As of November 2, 2026, the FTC has proposed no new negative option rule since its March 2026 notice.
On this page
This guide is part of our hub on telehealth payment processing. The general guide, for any business: free trials and negative option billing.
What counts as a trial in telehealth
Any offer where a low or free start turns into a recurring charge unless the patient acts is a negative option. In telehealth, that covers more than the classic free trial.
| Offer | What renews | Main risk |
|---|---|---|
| Free or discounted first visit | Often a membership or care plan behind it | Patient didn't see the plan price |
| Low first-month price | The plan at full price, sometimes with treatment billed apart | Total cost not shown7FTC, In the Matter of Southern Health Solutions (NextMed), analysis of proposed consent order, Federal Register, July 17, 2025 |
| Membership trial | The membership, sometimes with a minimum term | Commitment or exit fee not disclosed7FTC, In the Matter of Southern Health Solutions (NextMed), analysis of proposed consent order, Federal Register, July 17, 2025 |
| "Cancel anytime" plan | Every cycle | Cancellation harder than sign-up9FTC, press release on the proposed order against Cerebral, April 15, 2024 |
Fig. 1An intro offer from checkout to renewal, and the rule at each step
- CheckoutROSCA: full terms before billing, express consent
- Clinician decisionHold only; capture on approval
- ReminderVisa: at least 7 days before the intro price ends
- Full-price chargeVisa 13.5 if the patient wasn't clearly advised
- RenewalsOnline cancellation, visible next to any save offer
Each FTC case sits on one of these steps.
What the FTC has alleged
Three cases show where the FTC looks. Two are settled orders; one is an open lawsuit with allegations, not findings.
| Case | Date | What the FTC alleged or ordered |
|---|---|---|
| NextMed (Southern Health Solutions) | Proposed order published July 17, 2025 | Price that didn't show the medication cost or required services; a one-year membership term, charges "every 28 days" and an early termination fee not disclosed; $150,000 to the FTC; consent records kept 3 years7FTC, In the Matter of Southern Health Solutions (NextMed), analysis of proposed consent order, Federal Register, July 17, 2025 |
| Cerebral | Proposed order April 15, 2024 | A "cancel anytime" promise with a cancellation process the FTC called "complex, multi-step, and often multi-day"; over $7 million in total9FTC, press release on the proposed order against Cerebral, April 15, 2024 |
| Hims & Hers (with Utah and California) | Complaint July 29, 2026, case open | Subscriptions started "shortly after receiving consumers' intake forms"; consumers "charged for and subscribed to a prescription […] without having a chance to review or approve it"; a hidden cancel button8FTC, press release on the complaint against Hims & Hers, July 29, 2026 (allegations; case pending) |
The pattern: price that doesn't add up, a commitment the patient didn't see, a charge that comes before the patient or the clinician has agreed, and a cancellation that's hard to find.
The rules that apply
The FTC's 2024 click-to-cancel rule was vacated in July 2025. The FTC opened a new rulemaking in March 2026, and as of November 2, 2026 no new rule has been proposed2FTC, Rule Concerning the Use of Prenotification Negative Option Plans, advance notice of proposed rulemaking, 91 FR 12318, March 13, 2026; status checked on the Federal Register, November 2, 2026. ROSCA, state laws and card network rules set the requirements today.
| Rule | What it requires |
|---|---|
| ROSCA | Terms before billing details; express informed consent; simple way to stop charges1Restore Online Shoppers' Confidence Act, 15 U.S.C. § 8403, read November 2, 2026 |
| California | Express consent; acknowledgment; online cancellation; notice 3 to 21 days before a trial over 31 days ends; consent records kept 3 years3California Business and Professions Code § 17602 |
| Visa | Trial terms on the checkout screen; click-to-accept consent; notice at least 7 days before a trial or intro price ends; online cancellation4Visa Core Rules and Visa Product and Service Rules, edition of April 18, 2026: section 5.8.17.2, tables 5-20 and 5-21, dispute conditions 13.2 and 13.5 |
| Mastercard | Confirmation with cancellation instructions; a reminder before billing for trials longer than 7 days5Mastercard, Subscription/recurring payments and negative option billing merchants: FAQs, 2022 |
| Stripe | Prohibits "reduced price trials with unclear or hidden pricing"6Stripe, Restricted and prohibited businesses, read November 2, 2026 |
7 days
Visa's minimum notice before a trial or intro price ends
3 to 21 days
California's notice before a trial over 31 days ends
3 years
How long California and the NextMed order keep consent records
Other states have their own automatic renewal laws; the FTC cites Colorado, Vermont and Virginia alongside California2FTC, Rule Concerning the Use of Prenotification Negative Option Plans, advance notice of proposed rulemaking, 91 FR 12318, March 13, 2026; status checked on the Federal Register, November 2, 2026. Check the states where your patients live with counsel.
Tagada follows Visa and Mastercard rules and the laws that apply to payments.
Trials and the clinician's decision
A telehealth offer has a step a retail trial doesn't: someone has to decide whether treatment is appropriate. The FTC's Hims & Hers complaint is built on charges that came before that step8FTC, press release on the complaint against Hims & Hers, July 29, 2026 (allegations; case pending).
Hold, don't charge, at checkout
Authorize the card; capture only when the clinician approves.
Show the plan after the decision
The treatment plan, its price and its cycle, before the first recurring charge.
Release the hold on a decline
A patient the clinician doesn't treat should pay nothing for the plan.
Keep the visit fee separate
If you charge one, so the patient knows what they paid for.
Watch out
A card hold is not clinical approval. Your checkout copy can't imply the patient will be prescribed anything because the payment went through.
The payment mechanics: prescription-gated checkout.
A compliant intro offer, step by step
- Show the full cost before the card fields: visit fee, membership, plan price after the intro period, cycle, any minimum term or exit fee1Restore Online Shoppers' Confidence Act, 15 U.S.C. § 8403, read November 2, 20267FTC, In the Matter of Southern Health Solutions (NextMed), analysis of proposed consent order, Federal Register, July 17, 2025.
- Collect a separate consent: a click-to-accept tied to the recurring terms, apart from your general terms4Visa Core Rules and Visa Product and Service Rules, edition of April 18, 2026: section 5.8.17.2, tables 5-20 and 5-21, dispute conditions 13.2 and 13.5.
- Log it: the exact text shown, the page version, time and order; keep it 3 years3California Business and Professions Code § 176027FTC, In the Matter of Southern Health Solutions (NextMed), analysis of proposed consent order, Federal Register, July 17, 2025.
- Confirm right away with terms, next charge date and a link to cancel online4Visa Core Rules and Visa Product and Service Rules, edition of April 18, 2026: section 5.8.17.2, tables 5-20 and 5-21, dispute conditions 13.2 and 13.55Mastercard, Subscription/recurring payments and negative option billing merchants: FAQs, 2022.
- Remind at least 7 days before the intro price ends; for monthly renewals, Stripe suggests a reminder 2 to 3 days before4Visa Core Rules and Visa Product and Service Rules, edition of April 18, 2026: section 5.8.17.2, tables 5-20 and 5-21, dispute conditions 13.2 and 13.510Stripe Docs, Dispute and fraud card monitoring programs, best practices, read November 2, 2026.
- Let patients cancel online the way they signed up, with the cancel button visible even if you show a save offer3California Business and Professions Code § 176024Visa Core Rules and Visa Product and Service Rules, edition of April 18, 2026: section 5.8.17.2, tables 5-20 and 5-21, dispute conditions 13.2 and 13.5.
- Confirm the cancellation and stop the next charge.
Visa disputes 13.2 and 13.5 are won or lost on your consent record.
The cancellation side in depth: cancellation compliance for telehealth. Plans that patients keep without a trial: memberships for telehealth companies.
Trials and disputes
Two Visa dispute reasons fit trial problems exactly4Visa Core Rules and Visa Product and Service Rules, edition of April 18, 2026: section 5.8.17.2, tables 5-20 and 5-21, dispute conditions 13.2 and 13.5:
- 13.2 Cancelled recurring transaction: the cardholder withdrew permission and you charged anyway.
- 13.5 Misrepresentation: a purchase through a trial or intro offer where the cardholder "was not clearly advised of further Transactions".
Both are won or lost on your consent record. Each one also counts in your dispute ratio: chargebacks for telehealth companies.
How Tagada helps
Intro offers with a clear way out
TagadaPay brings "native 3DS2, device intelligence, and rules engine: approve real customers, block the rest"12TagadaPay, homepage, read November 2, 2026, with "enhanced review for regulated verticals". For intro offers:
- Subscriptions with trials, cycles, retries and automatic recovery
- Email and SMS fired by real events, for renewal reminders
- Customer portal: "skip, pause, change frequency, swap product, cancel with your retention offers", with cancellation at the end of the paid period by default11Tagada documentation, Customer portal (headless SDK), read November 2, 2026
- Your vault, portable: "Switch processors without re-onboarding customers"
Building the whole telehealth brand? With Tagada Rx, "the card is only captured once a doctor approves", refills rebill on ship day, and "declined, cancelled, and errored cases never rebill." US patients only, by selection.

Frequently asked questions
Is a free trial legal for a telehealth subscription?
Do I need to remind patients before a trial ends?
Can a telehealth membership have a minimum term or a cancellation fee?
Does the FTC click-to-cancel rule apply in 2026?
Should I charge the patient before the clinician reviews their case?
Sources
Checked November 2, 2026- Restore Online Shoppers' Confidence Act, 15 U.S.C. § 8403, read November 2, 2026
- FTC, Rule Concerning the Use of Prenotification Negative Option Plans, advance notice of proposed rulemaking, 91 FR 12318, March 13, 2026; status checked on the Federal Register, November 2, 2026
- California Business and Professions Code § 17602
- Visa Core Rules and Visa Product and Service Rules, edition of April 18, 2026: section 5.8.17.2, tables 5-20 and 5-21, dispute conditions 13.2 and 13.5
- Mastercard, Subscription/recurring payments and negative option billing merchants: FAQs, 2022
- Stripe, Restricted and prohibited businesses, read November 2, 2026
- FTC, In the Matter of Southern Health Solutions (NextMed), analysis of proposed consent order, Federal Register, July 17, 2025
- FTC, press release on the complaint against Hims & Hers, July 29, 2026 (allegations; case pending)
- FTC, press release on the proposed order against Cerebral, April 15, 2024
- Stripe Docs, Dispute and fraud card monitoring programs, best practices, read November 2, 2026
- Tagada documentation, Customer portal (headless SDK), read November 2, 2026
- TagadaPay, homepage, read November 2, 2026
TagadaPay
Intro offers charged only after the clinician decides
Tell us what you sell and how you sell it. Each application is underwritten, and approval is not guaranteed.
- 01Tell us what you sell and how
- 02Underwriting reviews your business
- 03Process through TagadaPay alongside your other processors
