Does Stripe Allow Prescription Drugs?
Stripe lists online pharmacies as restricted, not prohibited. The exact policy lines, eligible countries, what it asks for, and what can go wrong.
Article summary
Restricted, after reviewTL;DR
Sometimes. Stripe lists online pharmacies and card-not-present prescription-only products as restricted businesses, not prohibited ones. You need Stripe's approval before you process, Stripe only approves pharmacies in the US, Canada, the EU, Australia, the UK and Japan, and it can change or revoke that approval at any time.
- Stripe's list names "Online pharmacies, including SaaS platforms" and "Card-not-present prescription-only products and pharmaceuticals" as restricted (updated September 22, 2026).
- Asked whether it can process pharmaceuticals, Stripe answers "Maybe" and cites "the card network policies in place regarding pharmaceutical merchants".
- Pharmacies "will only be approved for merchants in the US, Canada, the EU, Australia, the UK, and Japan".
- An approval "may be modified or revoked by Stripe at any time".
- When Stripe acts for unacceptable risk, it typically pauses payouts for 120 days (policy of July 29, 2026).
On this page
This guide is part of our hub on online pharmacy payment processing. The general guide, for any business: what Stripe prohibits and restricts. If you sell prescription treatment as a brand, Tagada Rx puts storefront, doctors, pharmacy and payments in one stack, by application. Processor by processor: Stripe for high-risk businesses.
What Stripe's policy says
Stripe groups pharmacies under the heading "Pharmaceuticals, medical devices and telemedicine", on its restricted list1Stripe, Restricted and prohibited businesses, updated September 22, 2026, read November 2, 2026.
| Policy line (exact wording) | List | Who it covers |
|---|---|---|
| "Online pharmacies, including SaaS platforms" | Restricted | Pharmacies selling online, and software platforms that run them |
| "Card-not-present prescription-only products and pharmaceuticals" | Restricted | Any online or phone sale of a prescription-only product |
| "Prescription delivery services" | Restricted | Delivery of filled prescriptions |
| "Prescription-only and regulated medical devices" | Restricted | Devices sold on prescription |
| "Telemedicine and telehealth services" | Restricted | Online consultations and prescribing |
Stripe, list updated September 22, 2026, read November 2, 20261Stripe, Restricted and prohibited businesses, updated September 22, 2026, read November 2, 2026.
Card-not-present prescription-only products and pharmaceuticals
Stripe's FAQ defines the scope broadly: a business is an internet pharmacy "if it sells, dispenses, markets, or facilitates the selling, dispensing, or marketing of a prescription or pharmacy-only medicine in response to orders placed over the internet"2Stripe Support, Prohibited and restricted businesses list FAQs, read November 2, 2026. A platform that only markets for a pharmacy is covered too.
Restricted, not prohibited
Some guides say Stripe bans pharmacies. Its own pages say otherwise.
| Stripe list | What it means | Online pharmacy? |
|---|---|---|
| Prohibited | Not supported at all | NoExcept "Illegal drugs, substances designed to mimic illegal drugs"1Stripe, Restricted and prohibited businesses, updated September 22, 2026, read November 2, 2026 |
| Restricted | Businesses that "require additional due diligence by Stripe in order to confirm our ability to support them"1Stripe, Restricted and prohibited businesses, updated September 22, 2026, read November 2, 2026 | YesAll five lines above |
| Neither | AcceptedAt sign-up, reviewed later | No |
Restricted means you ask first. Stripe adds that it "might not be able to grant approval for your business to use our products"1Stripe, Restricted and prohibited businesses, updated September 22, 2026, read November 2, 2026.
Watch out
Processing prescription orders on a standard Stripe account, without approval, puts the account outside Stripe's terms. Apply for the restricted category before your first sale.
What Stripe asks before approving
Stripe says restricted businesses will be asked for "proof of relevant licences or more details about your business model" when they create their account1Stripe, Restricted and prohibited businesses, updated September 22, 2026, read November 2, 2026. For a pharmacy, prepare:
Pharmacy licenses
For your home state and each state you ship to.
Your prescription process
How a valid prescription reaches the pharmacist before anything ships.
Your location
Approval is limited to the US, Canada, the EU, Australia, the UK and Japan2Stripe Support, Prohibited and restricted businesses list FAQs, read November 2, 2026.
Your website
It must match what you declare.
What Stripe doesn't say: its FAQ mentions LegitScript only for telemedicine. It says nothing on whether a pharmacy needs it2Stripe Support, Prohibited and restricted businesses list FAQs, read November 2, 2026. Don't assume either way; ask during review.
Approval steps with any processor: how to get an online pharmacy merchant account approved.
Why the answer is "Maybe"
Stripe says it "must abide by the card network policies in place regarding pharmaceutical merchants"2Stripe Support, Prohibited and restricted businesses list FAQs, read November 2, 2026. Those policies apply to every acquirer, Stripe included.
| Network rule | What it says |
|---|---|
| Visa codes | MCC 5912 and 5122 are high-integrity-risk codes for card-absent sales (Visa)5Visa Merchant Data Standards Manual, October 2026 |
| Visa registration | The acquirer registers each such merchant; pharmacies accredited by NABP "or other regulatory body recognized by Visa" are exempt (Visa)3Visa Core Rules and Visa Product and Service Rules, October 24, 2026, section 1.9.5.1 |
| Mastercard registration | "An Acquirer first must register the Merchant with Mastercard" before non-face-to-face pharmaceutical sales (Mastercard)4Mastercard Security Rules and Procedures, Merchant Edition, August 4, 2026, section 9.4.3 |
| Mastercard proof | A legal opinion or "accreditation by a recognized third party", re-checked at least every 12 months (Mastercard)4Mastercard Security Rules and Procedures, Merchant Edition, August 4, 2026, section 9.4.3 |
5912 · 5122
Visa high-integrity-risk codes for card-absent pharmacy sales
12 months
Maximum gap between Mastercard proof-of-legality checks
120 days
Typical Stripe payout pause for unacceptable risk
Tagada follows Visa and Mastercard rules and the laws that apply to payments.
So Stripe's yes depends on whether it can register and monitor your pharmacy under these rules. The full rule set: online pharmacy merchant account compliance.
Fig. 1What stands between a pharmacy and a Stripe yes
approved declined or closed routing step
- ApplicationRestricted category, before the first sale
- thenDue diligenceProof of licences or business model
- thenNetwork registrationVisa and Mastercard, by the acquirer
- if clearedApprovalSpecific to the offer, revocableApproved
Each step can stop the approval, and the last one can be undone.
Pharmacy or telemedicine: not the same review at Stripe
Both sit in the same restricted category, but Stripe's FAQ treats them separately2Stripe Support, Prohibited and restricted businesses list FAQs, read November 2, 2026.
| Online pharmacy | Telemedicine business | |
|---|---|---|
| Stripe's answer | "Maybe" | Each business reviewed "on a case-by-case basis" |
| LegitScript | Not addressed | "Telemedicine businesses don't need certification from LegitScript" |
| Country limit | US, Canada, EU, Australia, UK, Japan | Not stated |
| What Stripe asks | Licenses, business model | "License numbers and information on your processes" |
If you run consultations and route prescriptions to a partner pharmacy, you're closer to the telemedicine case: does Stripe allow telehealth?
Fig. 2Two reviews in one restricted category
Online pharmacy
- LegitScriptNot addressed
- andCountry limitUS, Canada, EU, Australia, UK, Japan
- then
Stripe asksLicenses, business model
Stripe's answer: Maybe
Telemedicine business
- LegitScriptCertification not needed
- andCountry limitNot stated
- then
Stripe asksLicense numbers and your processes
Reviewed case by case
Same category, not the same questions.
After approval: closure, reserves and saved cards
An approval is "specific to each service offer and it may be modified or revoked by Stripe at any time"1Stripe, Restricted and prohibited businesses, updated September 22, 2026, read November 2, 2026. Plan for that day before it comes.
| Risk | What Stripe's terms say |
|---|---|
| Closure | Stripe "may terminate this Agreement or close User's Stripe Account at any time"6Stripe Services Agreement, last modified September 28, 2026 |
| Payouts | For unacceptable risk, Stripe "will typically restrict or pause payouts" for 120 days from its first email7Stripe, Unacceptable Risk Policy, last updated July 29, 2026 |
| Reserve | "In some rare cases, a reserve may be required indefinitely"8Stripe Support, Reserves: frequently asked questions, read October 26, 2026 |
| Saved cards | Exported only to a PCI DSS Level 1 processor; subscriptions don't move9Stripe Docs, Request a payment data export, read October 26, 2026 |
Fig. 3What a closure does to each part of the account
PayoutsTypically paused 120 days for unacceptable risk
- ReserveIn some rare cases, indefinitely
- Saved cardsExported only to a PCI DSS Level 1 processor
- SubscriptionsDon't move: rebuild them
Cards can travel. Subscriptions are rebuilt.
Refills billed on saved cards are the exposed part. Keep a second processor ready: payment routing for online pharmacies. If it already happened: why Stripe closed your online pharmacy account.
Example
A pharmacy approved on Stripe bills 800 monthly refills on saved cards. If the account is closed, those cards stay at Stripe until an export to another PCI DSS Level 1 processor is done, and each subscription has to be rebuilt there9Stripe Docs, Request a payment data export, read October 26, 2026.
Shopify Payments is not an alternative: it doesn't support "prescription drugs" at all10Shopify Help Center, Shopify Payments eligibility, read November 2, 2026. Details: can you sell prescription drugs on Shopify?
How Tagada helps
Payments and LegitScript inside the prescription stack
If you're launching a brand that sells prescription treatment online, Tagada Rx is a stack with storefront, doctors, pharmacy and payments, so you don't have to win a restricted-business approval alone11Tagada Rx, read November 2, 2026.
- Payments and LegitScript included, on a Tagada-hosted, LegitScript-certified domain11Tagada Rx, read November 2, 202612Tagada Docs, Tagada Rx introduction, read November 2, 2026
- Capture on approval: "The card is only captured once a doctor approves"; if the doctor declines, the hold is released11Tagada Rx, read November 2, 2026
- Rebill on ship day for recurring orders12Tagada Docs, Tagada Rx introduction, read November 2, 2026
- Routing to a licensed US pharmacy11Tagada Rx, read November 2, 2026
Tagada Rx is open by application to a selected group of brands. Terms are on the Tagada Rx page.

Frequently asked questions
Can I use Stripe for an online pharmacy?
Is a pharmacy prohibited on Stripe?
Does Stripe require LegitScript for a pharmacy?
Can Stripe close my pharmacy account after approving it?
Does a marketing platform for a pharmacy need approval too?
Sources
Checked November 3, 2026- Stripe, Restricted and prohibited businesses, updated September 22, 2026, read November 2, 2026
- Stripe Support, Prohibited and restricted businesses list FAQs, read November 2, 2026
- Visa Core Rules and Visa Product and Service Rules, October 24, 2026, section 1.9.5.1
- Mastercard Security Rules and Procedures, Merchant Edition, August 4, 2026, section 9.4.3
- Visa Merchant Data Standards Manual, October 2026
- Stripe Services Agreement, last modified September 28, 2026
- Stripe, Unacceptable Risk Policy, last updated July 29, 2026
- Stripe Support, Reserves: frequently asked questions, read October 26, 2026
- Stripe Docs, Request a payment data export, read October 26, 2026
- Shopify Help Center, Shopify Payments eligibility, read November 2, 2026
- Tagada Rx, read November 2, 2026
- Tagada Docs, Tagada Rx introduction, read November 2, 2026
Tagada Rx
Don't build refills on one revocable Stripe approval
Tagada Rx runs the stack behind your brand. Open by selection: every application is reviewed, and we reply to each one.
- 01Tell us about your brand
- 02We review every application
- 03Go live under your brand after review
